Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medal shortlists announced

  16th March 2018

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal shortlist for 2018

  • Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans 
  • After the Fire by Will Hill 
  • Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCoughrean 
  • Rook by Anthony McGown 
  • Release by Patrick Ness 
  • Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick 
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas 
  • Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk 

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist for 2018

  • King of the Sky illustrated by Laura Carlin and written by Nicola Davies 
  • Night Shift illustrated and written by Debi Gliori
  • A First Book of Animals illustrated by Petr Horá?ek and written by Nicola Davies 
  • The Song from Somewhere Else illustrated by Levi Pinfold, written by A. F. Harrold
  • Town is by the Sea illustrated by Sidney Smith and written by Joanne Schwartz 
  • Thornhill illustrated and written by Pam Smy
  • Under the Same Sky illustrated and written by Britta Teckentrup 

The winners will be announced in June.

    ← View all news & updates